Squashed Dog

12 Mar

My terrier Scruffy and I had our first piece of bad luck last week, I pray our last.

I was walking her in the park last thing at night, when I called her over to put her on the lead. She came to me obediently, and then in a flash shot away from me across the road after a cat hiding under a car.

Then like a pinball machine, the cat and Scruff ran to and fro across the road. I was calling her, but she was taking no notice, oblivious to her domestic servitude. She was blissfully hunting. How many of you reading this own a dog that would not chase a cat? Be honest.

On the street, there were three working girls that I know waiting to score, to fuel themselves for the night ahead. Seeing Scruffy running, one of them shouted ‘alright Paul, you’re dog’s cheeky chasing that cat!’

Then all three screamed as my dog vanished under a speeding transit van. It sped away, but Scruffy was alive.

God bless the ladies of the night, they took control of the situation. I was numb. One phoned her boyfriend, for the number of the People’s Dispensary for Sick Animals (PDSA) in Bow, a vet for people on benefits.

Another phoned a taxi, the other comforted Scruffy and me. When the taxi arrived, he refused to take us, but the ladies forced him, and gave me a tenner from their last punter to pay the fare.

Within twenty minutes, Scruffy was in front of a brilliant vet. The PDSA are 24/7 for emergencies. No internal injuries, but a broken pelvis. They treated her like a princess over the next three days. I could pay nothing, but they treated my baby. If you’re an animal lover, please remember this wonderful charity when your conscience prickles.

We will give in the best way we can. When Scruffy recovers, we have promised to turn their drab grounds in to a beautiful garden full of medicinal herbs for the vets to use. Tansy for worms, wormwood for fleas, and lovely vegetables for the vets.

 Paul and Scruffy

www.pdsa.org.uk

Published in The Big Issue January 2009

Leave a comment